• Login

Kentucky Early Childhood Development Scholarship

The Early Childhood Development Scholarship provides a seamless system to upgrade the professional development of those working in early care and education. The state legislature and the Governor created the Early Childhood Development Scholarship as part of the KIDS NOW early childhood initiative.

IMG_7522

The scholarship provides financial assistance, to the extent of available funds, in the form of non-repayable tuition scholarships for Kentucky students who are pursuing one of the following:


  • Commonwealth Child Care Credential
  • Child Development Associate
  • Associate Degree in Early Childhood Education
  • Bachelor's Degree in Interdisciplinary Early Childhood Education or related program
  • Director's Credential

Eligibility Requirements

Those applying for the scholarship must meet the following

Residency Requirements

Scholar must be a Kentucky resident and U.S. citizen, national or permanent resident.

Courseload Requirement

Enrolled in nine hours or less a term at a participating Kentucky institution, pursuing an approved credential, and maintaining satisfactory academic progress.

Employment Requirement

Be employed at least 20 hours/week in a participating early childhood facility

  • or provide training in early childhood development at least 12 times/year for an organization approved to offer training by the Office of the Inspector General of the Cabinet for Health and Family Services.
  • or be employed as a preschool associate teacher in a state-funded preschool program

Financial

  • Not be eligible to receive state or federal training funds through Head Start, a public preschool program, or First Steps.
  • Have no unpaid financial obligation to the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority.
  • Agree to a service contract based on the credential pursued.

Deadlines

Must submit the scholarship application, for each term, by the deadline to the Professional Development Coach.

# SemesterDeadline
1 Spring
2 Summer
3 Fall

Find your Professional Development Coach

 

 

Regional Map

"Obtaining my CDA helped me tremendously in preparing for early child care education. Without my CDA, I would never have gained the amount of experience I did."

Brittany Slone, Thelma B. Johnson Early Learning Center

Division of Child Care Approved Training Agencies

Agency Street Address City, State, Zip Contact Person Phone Email
4C for Children 525 West Fifth Street, Suit 215 Covington, KY  41011 Sandra Woodall 859-547-5084 swoodall@4cforchildren.org
Audubon Area Training Center 1800 West 4th Street Owensboro, KY  42301 Savanah Madrid 270-686-1647 smadrid@audubon-area.com
Child Care Council of Kentucky 1390 Olivia Lane #101 Lexington, KY  40511 Gemma Lockard (Finance)
Olivia Thompson (Progam)
800-809-7076 gemmal@cccofky.com
olivia.thompson@cccofky.com
Children, Inc. 333 Madison Avenue Covington, KY  41011 Jennifer Cruz 859-431-2075 jcruz@childreninc.org
Community Coordinated Child Care 1215 South Third Street Louisville, KY  40203 Tamala Hudgins 502-618-5675 tamala-hudgins@4cforkids.com 
Eastern Kentucky Child Care Coalition PO Box 267 Berea, KY  40403 June Widman  859-986-5896 junewidman@ekccc.org
Henderson Community College 2660 South Green Street Henderson, KY  42420 Bridget Murray 270-831-9675 bridget.murray@kctcs.edu
Licking Valley Community Action Program, Inc. 203 High Street Flemingsburg, KY  41041 Alicia Jackson 606-845-0081 ajjackson7775@yahoo.com
Western Kentucky University 1906 College Heights Blvd, #11031 Bowling Green, KY  42101-1031 Sherri Meyer 270-745-7087 sherri.meyer@wku.edu
West Kentucky Community & Technical College 4810 Alben Barkley Dr; ATB Room 209B Paducah, KY  42001 Greta Henry 270-534-3087 greta.henry@kctcs.edu

VIDEO INTRO

Two early care and education professionals share their experiences with the Early Childhood Scholarship program.

Moving up the Ladder

KDE Scholarship Video 1 from Kentucky Partnership on Vimeo.

Scholarship as a Stepping Stone

KDE Scholarship Video 2 from Kentucky Partnership on Vimeo.